So few days back I was mocked by my respectful guy friends saying I would have been leading the aurat march if I were there. My reply might not be liked by majority of the women but my blogs never aim for “getting in good books” of the people. Thus, no I wouldn’t even have attended THE Aurat March.

The idea of aurat march was or at least may was to highlight about that “tabqa” of our society which has been getting suppressed since decades, yet, they still are and most probably they will keep getting suppressed by the Dominant Ghar ke Mard. Domestic violence, suppression, not given the equal rights; the equal respect, job and living opportunities and rights of women (which FYI were clearly defined by our Prophet PBUH), etc. are some of the things which women in our society go through. However, the sad reality is these victims lives weren’t least affected by aurat march.

Just imagine the life of the women; who gets slapped each time she doesn’t cook well, or gets abused even after working the whole day to feed her dozens of children, or a girl who was forcefully married to a man triple her age. Trust me, our issues are much more important and serious than “mera duppata tum pehn lo”. The irony is, majority of the women who were in support of Aurat march and were present there, already wear whatever they want. So my question is, whose life did you make better?

……

*minute of silence*

I thought so.

Sigh. I won’t say that I am against women who want to wear whatever they want, sit the way they like, or whatever they want to do, but, my point is if you think you have the power to come out on streets, and fight for your rights, then better come out for the ones who need your help. Speak against the oppressor, take him to police, do your research, take laws out of the dusty books of law; laws for women rights, harassment, domestic violence, and take the filthy oppressor to jail. Use your power of word and status to make a difference in someone’s life. *not saying you people don’t do anything for people around you. Yes I know you help your maasi, etc.*

*It’s weird how I actually pass a sigh after each paragraph. The sigh out of disappointment.*



Moving to the placards, ha-ha. Let me make few things clear and define what’s right and what’s wrong;

If your guy asks you to bring out the moza from the drawer, there isn’t anything wrong with it. It gets wrong when he forcefully wakes you up from your sleep, aggressively asks you “where the fuck is my moza, bitch? Islye ki thi tujh se shadi”. That’s where it gets wrong.

If your guy comes home tired, and you have been although working in the house, or you came early from your job, and he expects you to bring him food, there isn’t anything wrong if you do it out of love and respect. It gets wrong when it doesn’t matter whether you are tired from work, exhausted from taking care of his mother and father and children and job too, and he comes come DEMANDING to bring him food.

*You deserve all the care and respect too, beautiful! You get tired too.*

The khulaasa is, khana garam dono kr sakte hain, or moza bhi dhoond sakte hain. Just don’t bring your ego in between.

If he is tired, respect that. If you are tired, he should respect that. That’s equality! Period.

*ofc you can agree or disagree, I don’t mind, it’s just my opinion)

I hope the next aurat march will be in the right direction. The future placards will be demanding laws for oppressed women, forceful marriages, a committee/group assigned whose work will be only to raid houses where women are victims of domestic violence, and demanding a place where people can report about such cases, to actually BRING a change.

Lastly, to the people who would might say that I overlooked what women go through in society, commented upon and criticized on dressing or sitting style. Taali 2 hath se bajti hai. Yes, this world is full of lustful men, I agree, who would x-ray every women like creature; abaya girl, the hijabi, the properly dressed and covered, and the half-naked, but don’t expect this either that not wearing dupatta will make any difference. It’s a deep rooted issue which won’t go away in days and can’t be resolved either by exclaiming “Nazar Teri Gandi Tou Dupatta Me Kiu Pehnu!”

No harsh feelings.

Peace out.